GCA Local Adaptation Champions Awards 2022 (€15,000)

GCA Local Adaptation Champions Awards 2022

Application for the Global Center on Adaptation Local Adaptation Champions Awards is now open. Launched by GCA in 2022, the Local Adaptation Champions Award spotlight and reward innovative, exemplary, inspiring, and scalable locally-led efforts that address the impacts of climate change and build effective climate resilience among the most vulnerable communities, sections of society, and individuals who are at the frontlines of the greatest existential threat faced by humankind.


  1. MTN Foundation Y’ellopreneur Program 2022 for Nigerian Female Entrepreneurs
  2. Idea Hatch (iHatch) Startup Incubation Programme Cohort II for Nigerian Entrepreneurs
  3. The Wits-TUB-UNILAG Urban Lab Scholarships Programme 2023 in Urban Studies

Requirements of Local Adaptation Champions Awards

  • The award is open to any individual, organization or group of partners worldwide, who have implemented or are in the process of implementing climate change adaptation/resilience solutions that follow one of the eight principles for locally-led adaptation.

Benefits of Local Adaptation Champions Awards

  • All 20 nominees will benefit from media coverage around their nomination for the awards. Four winners (one per category) will receive a cash prize of €15,000.

Local Adaptation Champions Award Timeline:

  • 10th July: Call for applications closes. Screening & longlisting starts.
  • 1st August: 20 nominees are invited to provide further information
  • 6th September: List of nominees published on the GCA website
  • 1st to 15th October: Jury selection of winners
  • 7th to 18th November: Award ceremony at COP 27 and unveiling of winners

Application Deadline

The deadline for application submissions is on July 10, 2022

For More Information: Visit the Official Webpage of the GCA Local Adaptation Champions Awards 2022

Never miss an opportunity Join our WHATSAPP 1OR WHATSAPP 2 0R WHATSAPP 3









Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *