Hilary Weston Writers Trust Prize for Nonfiction 2022 (worth $60,000)

Hilary Weston Writers Trust Prize for Nonfiction 2022

Writers Trust Prize for nonfiction 2022 will receive submission of nonfiction among other forms, works of personal or journalistic essays, memoirs, commentary, criticism both social and political, history, and biography. Applicants work for the Hilary Weston Writers Trust Prize for Nonfiction 2022 should demonstrate a distinctive voice, as well as a persuasive and compelling command of tone, narrative, style, and technique. The overall effect of such writing should provide the general reader with an informed, unique perspective on the issue at hand.

A prize of $60,000 will be awarded to a literary nonfiction book published between October 1, 2021 and September 30, 2022 that, in the opinion of the jury, is the year’s best book of nonfiction. The jurors will shortlist between three and five titles. Prizes of $5,000 will be awarded to each of the finalists.

Eligibility Criteria For Hilary Weston Writers Trust Prize for Nonfiction 2022

  • Publishers should note that the prize is for literary excellence; they should only submit books they deem outstanding in this regard.
  • Titles must be published between October 1, 2021 and September 30, 2022. Titles that are not yet in final published form by the final deadline of June 28, 2022 may be submitted as ARCs or bound galleys.
  • Books must be English-language, first-edition trade books, written by Canadian citizens or permanent residents.
  • Previous publication in another country does not disqualify a book.
  • Translations from other languages into English are eligible and will be considered in the year in which the English translation is published. In the event of a translation winning the prize, the prize money will be divided as follows: $45,000 to the author, $15,000 to the translator.
  • To be eligible to submit books for consideration, publishing houses must have a professional editorial process independent from the authors whose books are submitted. They must not charge authors for publishing.
  • Imprints must be editorially independent to be permitted to submit books in addition to submissions from their parent company.
  • All books must have an ISBN and be available in Canadian bookstores for some duration between October 1, 2021 and September 30, 2022.
  • Titles may be single-authored or co-authored. Multi-authored collections, anthologies, and conference proceedings are not eligible.
  • Self-published books are not eligible.
  • Ghostwritten books are not eligible.
  • No more than 20% of the manuscript can be previously published in book form.
  • Books whose author was deceased at the time of publication are not eligible.

Nomination Process For Hilary Weston Writers Trust Prize for Nonfiction 2022

The schedule for submissions corresponds to publication dates as follows:

Deadline 1: March 1 for books published between October 1, 2021 and February 28, 2022 

Deadline 2: May 3  for books published between March 1, 2022 and May 2, 2022

Deadline 3: June 28 for books published between May 3, 2022 and September 30, 2022.

Publishers are strongly encouraged to submit titles prior to the deadlines. Submissions upon release of titles are appreciated. If a publisher, for any reason whatsoever, feels they cannot submit titles in accordance with the above schedule it is requested that they contact the program manager to discuss alternate arrangements or the possibility of an extension.

Writers’ trust prize

Required Materials For Hilary Weston Writers Trust Prize for Nonfiction 2022

The following must be submitted by the final deadline on June 28, 2022:

  • Five copies of each eligible title in book form or three bound galleys, with at least two copies of the finished book to be received by the Writers Trust promptly upon publication.
  • A completed Hilary Weston Writers Trust Prize for Nonfiction online submission form listing all submitted titles and planned submissions. The form can be found online at writerstrust.com/nonfiction.
  • A spreadsheet listing all nonfiction titles published during the prize eligibility period (October 1, 2021 – September 30, 2022) with their authors and publication dates.
  • Images of the author and book cover suitable for reproduction in print materials. Please name each file “Nonfiction_AuthorLastName_FirstName” and “Nonfiction_AuthorLastName_BookTitle”.
  • A PDF copy of each submitted title (attached via our web form). A PDF must be submitted in addition to, not in place of, five book form copies.

Also Read:

  1. IsDB-ILO Youth Green Skills Accelerator Challenge 2022 (worth $20,000)
  2. JASIRI Growth Accelerator Program 2022 ($75,000)
  3.  Savvy Global Fellowship for Aspiring and Early-Stage Entrepreneurs (Fully-Funded)

 Announcement of Nominees & Winners For Hilary Weston Writers Trust Prize for Nonfiction 2022

The list of finalists will be announced in September 2022 and the award will be presented in November 2022.

Publisher Obligations: Hilary Weston Writers Trust Prize for Nonfiction 2022

If an author is a finalist the publisher will agree to:

  • Supply the Writers Trust with 18 additional copies of the shortlisted book for publicity purposes.
  • Affix stickers provided by the Writers’ Trust to all outgoing copies of the current edition of the finalist and winning books and include prize sticker artwork on any subsequent editions.
  • Participate in promotion and publicity efforts undertaken by the Writers’ Trust and stress the importance of this to their authors.
  • Commit resources, in accordance to their ability, to ensure shortlisted authors are able to attend prize-related events in the fall of 2022.

Apply here

For more inquiries and questions, please send to: djackson@writerstrust.com

Never miss an opportunity Join our WHATSAPP 1 OR WHATSAPP 2 0R WHATSAPP 3









Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *